aysjaysandayches

Just another WordPress.com site

10 Reasons Why It’s REALLY AWESOME To Be Single!

on September 19, 2012

I came across an article this morning, with the title: “10 Reasons Why It’s AWESOME To Be Single!!”, and I was all like “Oh yeah, this is going to be goooood!”…

It wasn’t. Actually, it was so disappointingly lacking that I just HAD to write my own. Because, this isn’t some poor attempt at covering up my ultimate despair, or trying to make up for something when there’s no other choice… It actually is SO AWESOME to be single!

 

 

omnomnom

ALL of the Cheesecakes!

Number 1. = There’s a common saying that goes around my family, which I’m proud to say I started: “You get to eat ALL of the Cheesecake!”. Now, just so we’re clear, you don’t HAVE to eat all of the Cheesecake. The point I’m making is that you COULD, if you wanted to. You know when there’s one slice left (it doesn’t have to be Cheesecake, if you’re not a fan, it could be MudCake, Oreo/TimTam, or the last piece of Camembert…mmmm Camembert…whatever you desire) and you really, really want it? But you’re nice and you offer it to your other half, half hoping they’ll say “No, you can have it…”. We all know, majority of the time that niceness usually comes back to bite you and you have to sit there watching as they finish off that amazing last piece as your tummy grumbles with distaste at your stupid manners.
Compromise, there is none of that when you’re single. You get the last piece, you get ALL of the pieces and you don’t have to feel bad about it until you step on the scales the next morning.

 

 

ALL of the comfort

Number 2. = An entire Queen size bed ALL to yourself. You can sleep on whatever side you like, ALL of the sides if you so wish. There’s no blanket stealing or what I like to call “The Air Tunnel of Doom” (you know, that little bit inbetween the 2 of you that lets that huge gush of freezing cold air in?). You can cocoon yourself in blankets without worrying about anyone else’s comfort. Also, if you’re into this kind of thing, your coverlet can be bright pink with fairies on it, you can have fluffy, sparkly cushions and sleep with your favourite Hello Kitty toy and NOBODY will ever know………oh.

 

 

I can dream…

Number 3. = You can spend ALL of the money. You know those awesome shoes you saw that you couldn’t really justify but would sell your soul to just look at them in your wardrobe? Okay, maybe you just felt like a new PS3 game, or a book, or an iPad? You see where I’m going with this… The only person you have to consult is yourself. And when you find yourself completely broke before payday, it’s okay…you don’t have to explain yourself to anyone. Also, you don’t have to worry about anyone ELSE going crazy with YOUR money!

 

 

Number 4. = ALL of the ‘Me Time’ you want. The best part of my day is when everyone else is asleep and I don’t have to worry about anything else other than what I want to do before bedtime. I like to curl up/sprawl out with a book or waste time staring into space or watch my favourite TV series/Movie or write or doodle or just get completely and utterly engrossed in Infomercials (Okay, that last one doesn’t happen, but it COULD if I wanted it to…).

 

 

Dooooo it!

Number 5. = You get to cook what you want and when you want. Obviously this will have to be SLIGHTLY modified if you have children like myself, but you get the gist. There were alot of things my past partners just wouldn’t allow me to cook. Like Salmon or Porcupines or Brussel Sprouts (yeah I’m weird like that but they’re good for you! Vitamins A, B6, C, E, K, Thiamin, Niacin, Riboflavin etc. Get on it.). When you’re single, you don’t have to modify your ingredients to suit anyone but yourself!!

 

 

Number 6. = You can have ALL of the friends! Boys, Girls, Animals(?), there’s nothing to feel guilty about and you don’t have to explain yourself to anyone! Come home at 2am or not at all! Drink yourself stupid, dance like nobody is watching and wear WHATEVER you want! Plus, you’ll have ALL of the time in the world to spend with them.

 

 

Number 7. = Go to the Movies by yourself! This relates alot back to Number 4, but I think it’s important enough to have its own paragraph. How many times did you have to go to a movie you REALLY didn’t want to see just to please your soulmate? Almost every time, there’s a movie on you would’ve loved to see instead, but, because you’re nice, you…that’s right…COMPROMISE. It doesn’t matter whether anyone else likes it, it doesn’t matter if you like it, you can go to see whatever you want and eat ALL of the popcorn! And feel great about it.

 

 

Number 8. = This is a weird one, but what the hey. There is no need to preen yourself JUST to please the opposite sex. As I said earlier, wear what you want! You haven’t shaved your legs? Chuck on some pants! You haven’t done your hair or makeup? WHAT-EV! Clipping toenails and waxing bits and pieces are now a thing of the past! Ha, don’t get me wrong, some of these things we obviously do for our own comfort and self-satisfaction…but that’s just it, isn’t it? Be a hippie.

 

 

Number 9. = NEVER feel obligated. You are your own nurse, your own chef, cleaner, chauffeur, happiness maker. Make 1 sandwich. Wash 1 set of clothes. Make 1 meal. (Again, some things have to be slightly modified for children but NO grubby man-socks or jocks! EVER!)

 

Number 10. = Okay, I can’t just stick to 10 reasons…there’s just too many!! So this is a roundabout wrap-up: The toilet seat stays down or up, however you like, toilet paper placement is your own, no anniversaries to remember, or birthdays, or in-laws to visit, no pregnancy scares, no wedding to plan, snore all you want, talk to yourself and be insane, sing as loudly and terribly as humanly possible, hog ALL the heater…and best of all, be happy and feel great about it!

 

 

 

Loneliness is one of the only down-sides but with the small amount of time that it may take up, it’s okay because it’s far outweighed by the awesomeness.

Singledom is where you can be as selfish as you like and not worry about anyone else’s feelings on the matter. No compromising, no sharing, no obligations and it’s okay if you think I’m awful for wanting to be this way. That’s YOUR problem.

10 responses to “10 Reasons Why It’s REALLY AWESOME To Be Single!

  1. I am THAT over Justin’s stinky man socks. Sometimes I contemplate stuffing them in his mouth while he sleeps…
    But it’s okay because I always get the last piece :3 Not that he asks me if I want it or I offer it to him first, no I just take it. In exchange for picking up the socks.
    It’s an alright balance.

    It’s good to see someone enjoying being single instead of moping about it.

  2. Delia Baby says:

    Loveeeed. This is so me. And screw that, brussel sprouts are yummy. 🙂

  3. Haha, well done! (and well said!)

  4. daisygirl12 says:

    Love this!!!

  5. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

  6. Can I reblog this? I’m reblogging this. Yes I am.

  7. […] 10 Reasons Why It’s REALLY AWESOME To Be Single!. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave a Reply

@WI L0UNGE

Coffee anyone?

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

A Dose of Justice (...courtesy of my crazy mom)

Down Syndrome, like my hazel eyes and rowdy siblings, is just a small piece of my puzzle.

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

Milly's Top 5 (that you may not have known)

Helping the Average Joe save their troubles, through mine, since '92.

paulw456

Just another WordPress.com site

Goal Habits.com

Daily Nourishment For Goal Achievement, Success, and Life

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

Fitness and Health Spot

just a student who enjoys health, nutrition, and fitness!

Strong-Fit-Beautiful

Health and fitness made simple

The Change

Thoughts on making changes in your life

jennovafoodblog

Nutrition: a different outlook

Abuse and Addictions

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

John's Fitness Advice Blog

Fat Loss Made Easy & Fast

What Kids Want Us to Know

Lessons in parenting from children themselves

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

bornoutofbourbon

Here I am...putting myself out there...for your pleasure

rainbowsinrainclouds

The day my rain cloud when away and out came the sun!

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

Random Spillages from a Reportedly Strange Mind

Perhaps too bizarre to explain in a line. Worth one look for even less clarity, maybe? :)

Photobotos

Just another WordPress.com site

The Dragon Blog

Fantasy Author Raani York's voice

Mr Wrong

"Learn from Mr Wrong and claim Mr Right."

Hungry.Thirsty.Crazy.

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

So This is why I'm Single

A catalog of bad dates and sexploits

Radiant

Living now, Looking up

Bella Verita

Beautiful Truth

Klara Luna

hand-made, practical, beautiful

Music Transforms You

Learn How to Play the Piano

kellykrei

Down Syndrome - Autism - Life

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

forcing myself happy

One day at a time...for 6 months! :/

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

kidlingville

the holy land...or something

The Best Life

Living the best life, one fabulous thing at a time

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

simple-politiks.com/

The Independent Political Website ~ Plain & Simple Politics

Prego and the Loon

Pregnant and Dealing With Domestic Violence

A Single Girl's Unguide

Ticking the 'single' box with a grin.

Design Your Destiny Now

A great WordPress.com site

